top of page


The Space for Sustainability Award is managed by the European Space Agency (ESA) and held under the auspices of the European Interparliamentary Space Conference (EISC) Presidency.
Every year the Award ceremony takes place during the EISC plenary meeting.

The European Interparliamentary Space Conference
- EISC -

EISC is the permanent forum for inter-parliamentary cooperation in space for European national parliaments. It aims to facilitate the exchange of information on space activities, promote the mutual understanding of national policies and analyse the major issues at stake in the European space sector.  EISC’s involvement in this Award will help to ensure the competitiveness of the European space sector and work towards its sustainable future.

2023-03-30 16_18_47-Austria 2023 - EISC.png
Therese Niss, MP
Christian Hafenecker, MP
Petra Oberrauner, MP
Hermann Weratshnig, MP
Douglas Hoyos-Trautmannsdorff, MP

Co-chairs of the XXIV EISC
The European Space Agency
- ESA -

The European Space Agency (ESA) is Europe’s gateway to space. Its mission is to shape the development of Europe’s space capability and ensure that investment in space continues to deliver benefits to the citizens of Europe and the world. ESA is an international organisation with 22 Member States. By coordinating the financial and intellectual resources of its members, it can undertake programmes and activities far beyond the scope of any single European country.

Josef Aschbacher
ESA Director General

"This award marvelously meets two goals at the same time: encouraging the young generation to make Earth, through space, a better place to live; and to engage politicians, who decide on behalf of the citizens about the future, in considering the benefits space provides for sustainability."

bottom of page